President Barack Obama has declared Atlantic, Cumberland, and Salem counties as major disaster areas as a result of the severe thunderstorms of June 30.

Tree blocking road in Northfield

The declaration makes federal funding available via the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the storms.

Application procedures for local, tribal and state governments will be explained at a series of federal/state applicant briefings with locations to be announced in the affected area by recovery officials.



Individual homeowners and businesses may not apply directly to the program; however, a community may apply on behalf of homeowners and businesses.


More From SoJO 104.9 FM