Contact Us

Twitter Really Is Changing Your Timeline: Here’s How It Works

Kim Kardashian Visits Extra Set
Michael Caulfield, Getty Images for Extra

#RIPTwitter. Right, y’all? Eh. Twitter’s announcement this morning might not be as drastic as some had feared, but the social media service is making an interesting (optional) change.

According to a new blog from Twitter published today (February 10), the site is introducing an opt-in “Important Tweets” version of your timeline, which will feature tweets that you’re “most likely to care about” at the top of your feed.

Here’s how it works. You flip on the feature in your settings; then when you open Twitter after being away for a while, the Tweets you’re most likely to care about will appear at the top of your timeline – still recent and in reverse chronological order. The rest of the Tweets will be displayed right underneath, also in reverse chronological order, as always. At any point, just pull-to-refresh to see all new Tweets at the top in the live, up-to-the-second experience you already know and love.

According to CBNBC, Twitter says this is “not a dramatic overhaul of the chronological feed and a shift toward an algorithmic approach, but rather an extension of the ‘while you were away’ feature giving users an update on the feed.”

Whether Twitter users really needed an Important Tweets option more than, say, the all-too-crucial edit feature (did you get that email from Kim Kardashian?) remains to be seen, but needless to say, people are still freaking out.


Iggy Azalea’s Most Delightfully WTF Tweets:

Next: Kanye Tweets 'Bill Cosby Innocent'

Best of SoJO 104.9

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://sojo1049.com using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Friends With Benefits quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Friends With Benefits contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.