Must be 18 to Marry in New Jersey
New Jersey will be the first state to require people to be at least 18 years old to get married. The State Senate approved the bill, now New Jersey Governor Chris Christie can sign it into law.
Why? To stop girls from being forced into arranged marriages.
Until this bill becomes law, 16 and 17 year olds can get married in New Jersey, with their parents permission. If the person is under 16, they have to have their parent’s permission and the permission of a judge.
I’m not sure that I agree with this, and I’ll tell you why. What if a young couple, with one or both parties under 18, legitimately love each other and want to get married – and they both have their parent’s permission? They CAN’T GET MARRIED in New Jersey? Makes no sense.
The new law would be to protect child brides (which is tradition and normal in some cultures). The law should be only for cases involving child brides, or suspected child bride cases.
Check out more from The Mike Show and SoJO 104.9! Is Sara’s fiance lying about the outrageous way he got scratches on his back?
Subscribe to SoJO 104.9 FM on